Posted by: Kiersten | June 4, 2011

I really should be doing something else.

This is my inner rhetoric, which seems to be on an infinite loop right now.  No matter what I’m doing, there are other things that need doing too.

Our coffee is taking off, which is great.  People love it.  It’s so gratifying.

We just tried one of Kat’s first blends, which is pretty spectacular.  She’s working on three right now.  Blends can be tricky – like blending colours on an artist’s palate, you need to know which elements complement each other, and which will just muddy the flavours.

My father came to visit last week, which was great.  He stayed next door in the very B & B Kat and I occupied for our first 9 months in Ukee.  Dad spent most of his time helping us: he tuned up our computers and installed new software, he taught me how to change the oil in our car and we changed the brake pads together.  He paid for a new exhaust and water pump for our 30 year old toyota tercel, aka Karma Car, giving it a new lease on life.  He gave me a new camera – yay!

Here Kat & I are on the Wild Pacific Trail – I’m the tired looking one.  I was still pretty beat from the drive to Nanaimo the day before.  I borrowed a friend’s truck, as our little tercel wasn’t in any shape to make it to Nanaimo at the time.

The truck was great, except when the brakes seized just outside of the airport and I spent a half hour at a gas station pouring water over the caliper and tapping it with a hammer, coaxing it to release.  I greeted my Dad with dirt up to my elbows and grease under my fingernails – quite a change from the city girl he knew in Toronto.

I got to drive my Dad back to Ukee in this truck, all the while trying to avoid using the brakes… in the mountains.  The owner of the truck told me he “doesn’t tend to use the brakes to save $$$ on brake pads, so the caliper isn’t usually a problem” – OH THAT’S REAL COMFORTING!!!

In the next few days, Dad helped me fix up the tercel, and he bought us new tires.  Thanks Dad, we appreciate your help so much.

Actually, it’s a good time to thank all of our family, yet again, for their continuing help and support.  We are so grateful, thank you so much.

And a huge thank you to the Ukee & Tofino locals, who are embracing our coffee so enthusiastically.  Samples are getting passed around, our customer list is growing.

Well, I’d better get back to the list of things I should be doing other than blogging.

I’ll let you in on a secret:  today’s the first day Kat & I have had off together in 6 weeks.  It’s going to be sunny and 20 C today – so we’re going to the beach.  We deserve it, we’ve worked very hard.

Let the summer begin!

Responses

  1. Hi Kiersten,

    I was pleased to see the pictures your Dad took while he was visiting. And, I have been very pleased to enjoy the Medium Roast Honduras blend he brought back… very tasty!

    Hope you enjoyed your day off.

    Christine

  2. Hi kiersten,

    enjoyed your blog. Kiddo all your hard work will pay off down the road. take care of yourself. One day you will look back on this difficult time and know this was the price to your success. when you get to ship to usa let me know i am starving for a great cup of coffee.

    Debbie aka Benelli


Leave a Reply

Categories

