Posted by: Kiersten | January 20, 2011

The Trouble With Blogging

The trouble with blogging about a business start-up is that there is just so much you can’t say. Things you know you don’t know, things you don’t know you don’t know, things you have little control over and you’re doing your damnedest to gain traction, when it feels like you’re burning a lot of gas by spinning your wheels in the mud.

When I started this blog, I was able to talk about every fear and anxious hope, every triumph and frustration. But at this stage in the game, as for the past six months or so, I just can’t talk about our challenges in detail online. It would be unprofessional.

I’m sorry folks, I can’t blog in detail about Stellar Coffee right now. I know it’s vague, and there is nothing more than I’d like to do than announce a launch date – but it’s just unwise to announce your business before you have product. We’ve had several utterly unforeseen delays; fortunately, with the help of friends, other business owners, the district and the insurance company, it looks like we’re overcoming each obstacle.

Slowly but surely. We’re getting there.

There are people we met last year who were at the business planning phase of their start-ups just when we were re-vamping our business plan in preparation for applying for our second business loan. Those people have opened, blown away their sales goals, and in one case closed for the season and headed out of the province for the winter.

It seems like everyone’s children, born the same year as our own, are growing quickly into little adults, speaking politely and eating at the table while ours is still screaming in the high chair, refusing to be toilet trained.

This is just a phase.

One day, hopefully very soon, I will post our launch date. I will once again be able to write about every joy and triumph. I will share with you the stories of the coffee we have obtained – the source countries, the farms the coffee was grown on, the people and co-ops we work with and support. There will be so much to write about, and I just can’t wait to tell you!

But I must, dear readers. I’m sorry, I have to wait.

I have to say how much I appreciate the 200 or so regular readers I see visiting the blog. 200! Wow, I’m utterly flattered so many people are invested enough in our story to check back so regularly.

Since this is a time that I’m limited in my subject matter, I’d like to invite the readers to chime in and introduce yourselves.

Who are you? Where do you live? What do you enjoy about the blog?

I’d love to know who is reading and what you like so I can be sure to keep making this blog a place you like to visit.

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to hear about your business venture, and thanks for explaining why you haven’t written about it.
    What I like about your blog are your photos of the beautiful West Coast that I miss so much. And I like hearing about your small community because, one day, we may move home and we’re definitely interested in the West coast of the island.
    Keep up the writing!
    Kim from PEI.

    • Oh Kim, I think about you when I read about the snow piling up on the east coast. What a harsh winter you’re having!

  2. Okay, great, I am used to just sneaking in and catching up, but along with privilege comes responsibility, so here you go.

    I started reading in order to get to know you, and Kat, better. I keep coming back because you write so well and I enjoy hearing about your trials, tribulations and successes (yay) as you dare to imagine a new life.

    As someone who loves taking pictures, I am always pleased to see the pictures you include and, as someone who grew up on a coast, albeit with very different scenery, I also enjoy your videos.

    Wishing you all the best as you continue to work towards getting Stellar Coffee up and running.

    Christine (from London, Ontario now, but from England originally)

    Life is a process, not an event!

  3. You can count me as the founder of your Hong Kong fan club. I have you bookmarked and check in every week or so. Did I mention I love your writing? Well, now I did.


Leave a Reply

Categories

