Posted by: Kiersten | May 8, 2010

Mum’s the word.

It’s 7:30 in BC, 10:30 back in Ontario, the perfect time to give my mother a call and wish her a happy Mother’s Day…  except that I left the portable phone off the hook last night and it doesn’t have enough charge to make a phone call.  This is why I’ve been trying to find a corded phone – and they’re unbelievably difficult to find.  I’m wondering if people just aren’t buying the corded phones anymore, or if stores have stopped stocking them.  We might have to go hunting through second hand stores just to get a decent corded phone.  I wonder if we’ll end up with a rotary.

So while I wait for the phone to charge, I figured I’d post an entry, which has been getting harder to do these days.  When I started this blog, I was determined to docment the blow-by-blow process of getting our small business off the ground.  There just aren’t many stories about this process.  There are endless shelves of books by white guys in suits about general business start up, there are even a few books with pink covers aimed at women in business, but precious few about the real, hair-raising, exhilirating process of getting a small business off the ground, as told by people figuring it all out as we go along.

The problem is that more and more of our days are filled up with things I’d be *foolish* to blog about right now.  We met with a lawyer.  I’d LOVE to tell you what we learned.  I’d LOVE to talk about the warehouse space we have, how we found it, how we picked our busines name.  And I will – once we’re up and running, once we’re selling coffee, it’ll all come out in the wash.

Meanwhile, Mum’s the Word.

Responses

  1. I have found all of your posts fun to read, especially about relocating to Ukee. The start up of the business is fascinating to experience vicariously, but hearing how you are acclimating to like in a small coastal town is even more interesting. I’m hoping to read a lot more about your day to day adventures along the way.

  2. What’s more, starting/running a business in a small town is very different than working in a city. There are politics and pecking orders, and there’s no getting away from each other – if you’ve just had a conversation with someone professionally, you’ll end up seeing them again at the pharmacy buying condoms.

    The whole town is your office and the drama is your LIFE.


Leave a Reply

Categories

