Posted by: Kiersten | February 3, 2010

An Interview with Destiny

Today I had my interview for an accounting job at a resort in Tofino.  I think it went pretty well. 

I got there just-a-touch early but not too early as to be annoying.  I was led to a conference room where I met the office manager, director and district manager, and they questioned me in a nice, conversational and non-confrontational manner. 

I was prepared for all sorts of challenging interview questions, such as “Why did you leave your last job?” “What did you not like about your last job?” “Describe a time you worked with someone you did not like?”  and even “Are you overqualified for this job?”

None of those toughies came up.  Instead, just the standard “What are your weaknesses?” and “What would your former co-workers have to say about you?” 

The only hiccup I had was when I was asked which accounting program I’d used in my last position and all I could remember were the lyrics to “The Thong Song” – I was pretty sure “Baby move your butt” wasn’t right, but after a few agonizing seconds “Simply Accounting!” popped triumphantly through the rap lyrics in my brain, thank heaven.

We talked for about a half hour and honestly, it seems like this job was tailor made for me.  I have done everything they need me to do.  It’s a new position, created by the extra work that has arisen in the last few months.  They’re looking for someone they can train and who can be trusted with the office when the manager goes on vacation.  I’m not afraid of responsibility and I’ve certainly had my fair share of it in the past.  Since I *must* find employment, I would like it to be in a place that’s interesting and engaging, rather than boring fluff work.

I think I made a good impression.  By the end of the interview the account manager was talking as though I’d already been hired “When you start your hours will be…” but the general manager was leaning away from the table, crossing his arms, looking away.  I hope it was because he wanted the interview to end and not because he didn’t think I would work.  The other two interviewers seemed really engaged with me, so I’m hopeful.

Anyway, I’ve done everything I can do to get this job.  They have four more interviews, I was the first of the five people they’re seeing.  That’s good, that means everyone will have to measure up to the bar I set.  At this point, if it’s meant to be, I’ll get it, and if I don’t get the job it won’t be because I messed anything up.  I feel a bit fatalistic about it now.

Here’s a little game of “Where’s Waldo the deer?” to break the tension:

   

Can you see him?

Leave a Reply

Categories

