Posted by: Kiersten | January 28, 2010

My life is like a sine wave.

 

Up down, up down, and it all balances out in the end.

Kat & I have gotten utterly and dramatically sick.  Okay, that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but we both have head colds and it feels dramatic.  It sounds dramatic too.

Between fits of nose-blowing, coughing and moaning, we’ve been making headway.  Kat’s completing piles of Community Futures paperwork and I have landed a job interview – yay!

I also got a call from Community Futures today regarding my rejection from EI.  The good news is:  I am still eligible for the self-employment program even though I’m ineligible for EI benefits.  The rep told me she’d never heard of someone being rejected from EI for pursuing self-employment, which was interesting.

The bad news: if I get this job, I probably won’t be eligible for the self-employment program, since it’s more than 20 hours a week.

Oh what a delicate balance, what a fine tightrope to traverse.  Good news, bad news, up down, up down.

I’ll look at it this way:  If I get the job, our savings will be safe.  If I don’t get the job, I’ll still be eligible for the program.

In other exciting news, the eagles are really back now!  We caught a glimpse of a large brown speckled eagle that swept right by our living room window.  It was huge!  It didn’t have the distinctive markings of the bald eagle, so for a moment I thought it was a golden eagle.  A quick internet search showed that it was just a baby bald eagle.  Bald eagle juveniles have speckled plumage and don’t get the white head and tail feathers until they hit puberty, at about 4 or 5 years old. 

There were a half dozen or so juveniles and another half dozen adult eagles swooping and soaring over the harbour, riding the wind in spiraling upward circles and tumbling, diving down to the water again.  The fishing boats were bringing in their catch, the sea lions were cashing in on the overflow and the eagles were ripping the catches away from the sea lions!  When one got a fish, five others would swoop after it and try to steal it from the victor.  It was raw, vicious, merciless competition, survival of the fittest right before our eyes.

I have such an appreciation for the resident bald eagles now, to think they would have had to survive and fight for their meals in this manner for years before pairing up, breeding and staking out a rough territory. 

The closest I ever got to a bald eagle was when I was 16 and working for the animal hospital in North Bay, Ontario.  A bald eagle had been brought in by the wildlife rescue, and the vet had him set up in the isolation kennel. 

“Hey, come see this!”  The vet whispered as he opened the door to the isolation room and flipped on the light. 

I stood transfixed, four feet away from the kennel lined with newspaper and containing a huge and seriously pissed off raptor.  His yellow eye fixed upon me, he curled his head down and arched his spine, his dagger-like talons clenching and shredding the paper beneath him. 

I could not take a single step closer.  This bird, though captive, was fearless and had sent me a very clear message:  “I will end you.  Just give me the chance.”

The eagle was transferred back to the wildlife rehabilitation center the next day, and I was left with a lifelong memory of that fantastic encounter. 

Eagles are predators, utterly, body and soul.  I understood it instinctually that day, but today I saw it in action. 

I am so grateful that Kat & I are living here.  This is amazing.

I attempted a few pictures of the feeding frenzy – I’ll check my camera later tonight and post pictures if any turned out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

