Posted by: Kiersten | January 22, 2010

Pickled Duck Tongues

It’s been a very, very busy week.  Kat & I spent the past two days in Port Alberni attending a workshop entitled “Exploring Entrepreneurship”.  There is much to write.  Frankly, I don’t have it in me right now. 

So I’ll just tell you what’s happening right now, at this moment.  I’m sitting at the kitchen bar, polishing off a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie while Kat sits on the couch, reading a book about pickling.  She’s on a big pickling/canning/preserving kick lately. 

Right now she’s engrossed in this book, little white dog draped over her lap, commenting aloud on the things that can be pickled but which she would never eat:

“Pickled Mushrooms?  I had them once.  They get squishy and slimy.”

“Huh.  Pickled ginger turns pink after a month.”

“Pickled Duck Tongues?  OH GAWD!  Why would you want to eat that?  And where would you get a pound of those??”

And right on cue, Sunshine is gripped in the heaving throes of a hairball, giving acoustic emphasis to the non-palatability of pickled duck tongues.

I will not be finishing my cookie, and that about describes my state of mind at the moment.  More soon.

Responses

  1. I love reading your emails and couldn’t help but laugh today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

