Posted by: Kiersten | November 19, 2009

Have I mentioned how much I love living here?

Best Ukee craigslist ad of the month:

http://nanaimo.en.craigslist.ca/cto/1472092985.html

Rad old truck – ’77 F150 Turbo – $300 (Ucluelet)


Date: 2009-11-18, 1:45PM PST
Reply to: sale-sekzr-1472092985@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]


Yo.
I’ve got a pretty sick old truck. It’s a 1977 Ford F150 Turbo. The thing is a beast.
It’s got a ton of love and good juju behind it.

Big Red is what she goes by. She runs on propane. The gas meter doesn’t work but if you just write down your gas intake on a piece of paper or something random each time you should be ok.

The box is slightly falling apart, but it’s held together with some wicked old rope from a fishing boat. The stuff is tougher than steel so no worries on that front.

The brakes could probably use a change, but the truck stops for me. I woulnd’t recommend crusing up to a red light at 80km/hour but that’s up to you.

It comes with some feathers and a dream catcher, and a cow bell and a big metal spike to pop the hood with. I will also give you one beer and a solid high five.

In all seriousness the truck is probably a collectors item if some mechanic fixed it up, but I like it just the way it is.

It’s in Ukee right now acting as a surf sled. I’m taking off to shred some snow in Japan, so Big Red needs to find a new man, or lady… 😉

Fire an email and come get the lovely lady in red. She’s a real tiger and is just waiting to be tamed.

PEACE!
ps. the price is totally negotiable

****

How do you even get a truck to run on propane?  How did this guy not EXPLODE himself lighting up? 

I have to admit, I’m a teeny bit tempted.  There’s no way this thing is insurable, but in a town like Ukee, would anyone even notice?  I mean, immigration is on the honour system here – there’s a sign down by dock next to a payphone that says “New to Canada?  Please call Immigration.  1-800-…”

Responses

  1. I totally thought YOU wrote that as a joke! Really I did, until I saw the actual craigslist ad! Wow…

    So in awe of you two. Thinking of everyone, and my furry nieces and nephews.

    Fingers crossed re: funding.

    xoxo

    -R

  2. It occurred to me that the ad could have been written with irony too. It could easily be an ironic or a legitimate surfer dude ad ~ either way, it’s funny enough to earn a “best of” vote from me 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

